EMS/EWM Scientific Panel

The EMS/EWM Scientific Panel, consisting of twelve leading women mathematicians, is an independent panel established jointly by the European Mathematical Society (EMS) and the association European Women in Mathematics. The membership of the committee is as follows:

Annette Huber-Klawitter  Chair. (Freiburg, Germany), since 2020

Alessandra Celletti  (Rome, Italy), since 2012

Sylvie Corteel, (Paris, France),  since 2016

Isabel Fernandez, (Sevilla, Spain), since 2021

Antonella Grassi (U Penn, USA), since 2008

Svetlana Jitomirskaya (U. Cal at Irvine, USA), since 2014

Kaisa Matomäki, (Univ. of Turku, Finland), since 2021

Mariya Shcherbina, (Kharkiv, Ukraine), since 2021

Sylvia Serfaty (NYU, New York, USA), since 2013

Anne Taormina (Durham, UK), since 2021

Corinna Ulcigrai (Zurich, Switzerland), since 2021

Tamar Ziegler (Jerusalem, Israel), since 2016

The panel’s remit is to provide advice to the EMS and EWM on scientific questions involving women and mathematics. It advises on scientific topics and speakers for events aimed at emphasizing women’s scientific contributions, such as those organised separately or jointly by EWM and the EMS. It may also be consulted about women speakers for other mathematical meetings or scientific activities, and other similar matters.


Past members

Christine Bessenrodt, Hannover (2008-2021)
Ursula Hamenstaedt, Bonn (2008-2021)
Dusa McDuff, Stony Brook (2008-2021)
Ragni Piene, Oslo (2008-2021)

Ulrike Tillmann, Oxford (2008-2021), Chair 2008-2012

Cornelia Drutu (2012-2020), Chair 2013-2020

Agata Smoktunowicz (2013-2016)
Sara van de Geer (2012-2014)

Isabelle Gallagher, Chair (2012-2013)
Viviane Baladi (2008-2014)
Eva Bayer-Fluckiger (2008-2012)
Christine Bernardi (2008-2012)
Vera Sos (2008-2012)
Nina Uraltseva (2008-2012)
Michele Vergne (2008-2012)